If you have suggestions, corrections, or updates, or if you find broken links, please e-mail MSW
Contents:
Action Writing (article)
Action Writing, physical
Advice from experts
Agents
Agents' Blogs
Agent Pitch Workshop
Articles of interest to writers
Area Codes
Bibliography  
Book Cover Design
Book Doctors & Private Editors
Book lengths
Book Packagers and Producers
Book Publishers (small)
Books about Writing
Books to Study
Characteristics list
Characters: What they Want
Citing Sources 
Close-up & Long-shot
Commas
Contests to watch out for
Copyright
Definitions: Short Story
Dialect: An article on using it

Dialog with Different Languages

Dialog tags
Dialog - Tom Swifty 
Digitalize Books, How to  
Discourse Types
Dreams
Editors
Feminist Lit. Journals
Film terms for narrative
Flashback
Flashback sample
Flashback, Undramatized  
Formatting Fiction
Free Advice!
Free exercises 
Free Indirect Speech 
Free Online Classes in All Subjects!
Grammar Resources  
Grounding
Hero's Journey Story Structure
How Long Is a Novel?
Illusion in prose narrative
ISBN Numbers  
Journals & Literary Magazines
Lengths for stories 
Links
Literary Agents
Literary Agents' Blogs
Literary Magazines & Journals
Literature Online
Logistics, physical 
Magical Realism
Management for Writers 
Marketing Your Book Conference
Markets for Literary Fiction
Memoir
Memoir and Fiction
More Resources 
MFA Programs
Monologue & Minor Characters
Multiplot Novel
Names for characters
Novel length
Notes on omniscience
Online magazines 
Online Classes in all subjects
Pacing Fiction
Physical Action 
Pitching Your Book Workshop
Places to Study Writing

Plagiarism

Plot and Structure Ideas
Plot Notes
POD Publishers
Point of View
Point of View Chart
Present Tense  
Presses (Small)
Printers: Recommended book producers (not publishers)
Process and Product
Proof Reader's Marks
Pros and Cons of Present Tense 
Prose Fiction Length
Publicizing Your Book
Publishers (Small)
Query Letter Samples
Query Letters: Worst Ever
Quotations
Quotidian Scenes and Objects
Readability of your prose
Reading
Resources Online
Romance

Self-publishing

Scene
Scene example
Scene versus Summary
Screenwriting
Self-publishing and Print-on-Demand 
Self-Publishing: One Writer's Story  
Short Story Defined  
Small Magazines & Journals
Small Presses
Smaller Publishers
Some Tricks of the Narrative Trade

Standard Lengths for Prose

Structure for Novels 
Structure for Long Narratives 
Story lengths 

Study writing

 

Sunmary/synopsis

Tags in Dialogue
Tenses
Tom Swifties
Types of Discourse
Types of publishers 
Undramatized  
Flashback
Weather
Web Pages: Getting Your Own
What Characters Want
Worst Query Letter Ever
Writing for Children
Writers on writing
Writers' Conferences

Zip Codes

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Note: no guarantee that these are still publishing. If you find information about a change in status, please email MSW.

 

A Good Place to Look for Publications that Publish Poetry

 

Online and hard copy publications that publish fiction

Avery  http://www.averyanthology.org/
Big City Lit http://www.nycBigCityLit.com
Black Bird www.blackbird.vcu.edu publishes poetry, fiction, creative nonfiction, and drama as well as multi-modal works exploring the electronci possibilities as well as the traditions of the best in print journals.
Bloodroot Literary Magazine has a nice reading series they do for people who they publish. See their website at http://www.bloodrootlm.com/
The Broken Plate   Run by undergraduates, but they welcome submissions from eeryone. See  http://brokenplate.iweb.bsu.edu/
Collected Stories http://www.collectedstories.com (This has links to lots of online places that publish fiction)
Contrary Magazine
East of the Web http://www.short-stories.co.uk/ out of Britain.
Ep;phany http://www.epiphanyzine.com
The Hamilton Stone Review   http://www.hamiltonstone.org/hsr.html
jmww http://jmww.150m.com/ Online lit zine-- reads all year round.
The King's English This magazine wants long essays and novellas!
Land Grant Colleges Review http://www.land-grantcollegereview.com
Long Story Short (flash fiction only) http://www.alongstoryshort.net/
Mountain Echoes http://www.mountainechoes.com
Muse & Stone, Buhl Hall, Waynesburg University, 51 West College Street, Waynesburg, PA 15370. Mixes undergrand and unsolicited. See website. Cover letter plus SASE for response only.
Mystic Review http://acarts.org/mystic
The New Ohio Review http://www.ohio.edu/nor/
Passager at www.passagerpress.com has as mission to publish writing that brings to light the collective imagination of those who are over 50.
Peeks and Valleys: A Southern Journal has a focus on short fiction: http://www.peeksandvalleys.com/index.
The Pedestal Magazine http://www.thepedestalmagazine.com
Perigee is an online journal of fiction and poetry, up to 5,000 words for fiction. It's at http://www.perigee-art . SUSPENDED PUBLICATION
Persimmon Tree at http://persimmontree publishes literary work by women over 60.
Pif Magazine www.Pifmagazine.com
Prick of the Spindle http://www.prickofthespindle.com
The Rambler http://www.ramblermagazine.com/
Raving Dove http://ravingdove.
Redux -- An invitation-only literary journal of writers' favorite, previously published stories and poems, not found elsewhere on the web, http://www.reduxlitjournal.com/2012/07/44-sigh-of-hard-pressed-creature-by.html (updated 8-1-12)
R.KV.R.Y.http://www.ninetymeetingsinninetydays.com/    Poetry and Fiction, theme of "recovery" in broadest sense.
The Rose & Thorn Literary E-zine http://www.theroseandthornezine.com/
rumble (publishes micro-fiction)
Salt River Review http://www.poetsersv.org/
Slab http://www.slablitmag.org/
Steam Ticket http://www.steamticket.
Storyglossia  http://www.storyglossia.com/front.html
Story South You need a Southern Connection.
Terrain.Org http://www.terrain
Tin House http://www.tinhouse.com/
Upstreet: a Literary Magazine http://www.upstreet-mag.org/
Vestal Review Flash fiction only.
Women Writers  http://www.womenwriters.net/index.html

 

Shelley Ettinger's list of Markets for Writers of Literary Short Fiction

Shelley Ettinger sent information from the Poets & Writers' Speakeasy discussion board where some writers listed fiction markets by degree of impossibility of getting published in them. She points out that it is not comprehensive (and recommends the fuller list at http://www.newpages.com) but says she likes the way this one breaks it down.

Shelley also recommends Duotrope.com/ , an often-updated service listing markets by category.

I. Too competitive for words:
Atlantic Monthly ( Michael Curtis, fic. ed.) www.theatlantic.com Harper's (Ben Metcalf, literary ed.) www.harpers.org Esquire (Adrienne Miller, literary ed.) http://www.esquire.com/about GQ http://us.gq.com Ms. www.msmagazine.com The New Yorker (Deborah Treisman, fic. ed.) www.newyorker.com Playboy (Christopher Napolitano) http://www.playboy.com/...tion-guidelines.html
II. Ultra Competitive:
DoubleTake www.doubletakemagazine.org/ Granta (Ian Jack, ed., London) www.granta.com/about/contacts Glimmer Train, www.glimmertrain.com McSweeny's www.mcsweeneys.net/ The Oxford American (Southern writers/themes) www.oxfordamericanmag.com/ Paris Review (Brigid Hughes) http://parisreview.com/ Ploughshares (guest editors) www.pshares.org/index.cfm The Sun (Sy Safransky, ed. www.thesunmagazine.org The Threepenny Review (Wendy Lesser, ed) www.threepennyreview.com/ Tin House (Rob Spillman, ed.) http://tinhouse.com Zoetrope www.all-story.com
 
III. Very very competitive: Agni www.bu.edu/agni/ Antioch Review www.antioch.edu/review/ Boulevard www.richardburgin.com/boulevard.htm Conjunctions www.conjunctions.com
Georgia Review www.uga.edu/garev/
Gettysburg Review www.gettysburg.edu/academics/gettysburg_review
Iowa Review www.uiowa.edu/%7Eiareview/mainpages/tirweb.html
Kenyon Review (Nancy Zafris, fic. ed.) www.kenyonreview.org
Michigan Quarterly Review www.umich.edu/~mqr/index.html
Missouri Review (Speer Morgan, ed.) www.missourireview.org/
New England Review http://cat.middlebury.edu/~nereview
North American Review www.webdelsol.com/NorthAmReview/NAR Ontario Review Prairie Schooner www.unl.edu/schooner/psmain.htm Southern Review Tri-Quarterly (Northwestern U) www.triquarterly.org/ Virginia Quarterly Review (Ted Genoways) www.virginia.edu/vqr/ Zyzzyva (West Coast writers; Howard Junker, ed.) www.zyzzyva.org/
 
IV. Darn Competitive: Alaska Quarterly Review http://aqr.uaa.alaska.edu/ Another Chicago Magazine www.anotherchicagomag.com/ Bellingham Review www.ac.wwu.edu/~bhreview/ Beloit Fiction Journal www.beloit.edu/~english/bfjournal.htm Bellevue Literary Review www.blreview.org/ Black Warrior Review http://webdelsol.com/bwr/ Blue Mesa Review http://www.unm.edu/~bluemesa/ Chicago Review http://humanities.uchicago.edu/orgs/review/ Boston Review www.bostonreview.net/aboutBR.html Carolina Quarterly www.unc.edu/depts/cqonline/ Cimarron Review http://cimarronreview.okstate.edu/ Colorado Review www.coloradoreview.com/ Conjunctions www.conjunctions.com/njhome.htm Cutbank www.umt.edu/cutbank/ Denver Quarterly www.denverquarterly.com/ Fiction (Mark Mirsky, ed)
Fiddlehead www.fiddlehead.ca/ Five Points (Ga. SU) www.webdelsol.com/Five_Points/ Greensboro Review www.uncg.edu/eng/mfa/review/review.htm Gulf Coast www.gulfcoastmag.org/index.html Harvard Rev http://hcl.harvard.edu/...tments/harvardreview Hayden's Ferry Indiana Review http://www.indiana.edu/~inreview/ir.html The Journal www.cohums.ohio-state.edu/english/journals/the_journal/ Land Grant College Review www.land-grantcollegereview.com/index.php Literal Latte www.literal-latte.com/ The Literary Review www.theliteraryreview.org/ Malahat Review http://web.uvic.ca/malahat/ Manoa www.hawaii.edu/mjournal/ The Massachusetts Review www.massreview.org/ Meridian www.engl.virginia.edu/meridian/ Mid-American Review New Orleans Review http://www.loyno.edu/~noreview/ Nimrod www.utulsa.edu/nimrod/ Open City www.opencity.org/main.html Phoebe www.gmu.edu/pubs/phoebe/main.html Puerto del Sol www.nmsu.edu/%7Epuerto/welcome.html Quarterly West www.webdelsol.com/Quarterly_West Seattle Review http://depts.washington.edu/engl/seaview1.html Sewanee Review www.sewanee.edu/sreview/home.html Shenandoah http://shenandoah.wlu.edu/ Stand Magazine www.people.vcu.edu/~dlatane/stand.html Swink (new, Leelila Strogov, ed.) www.swinkmag.com Western Humanities Review www.hum.utah.edu/whr/ Witness www.occ.cc.mi.us/witness/ Yale Review www.yale.edu/yalereview/
 
V. Still plenty competitive: American Literary Review www.engl.unt.edu/alr/index.html Ascent www.cord.edu/dept/english/ascent/ Crab Orchard Review www.siu.edu/~crborchd/ Crab Tree Review www.crabcreekreview.org/ Cream City Review www.uwm.edu/Dept/English/ccr/index2.html Crescent Review www.crescentreview.org/ Florida Review www.flreview.com/ Global City Review http://webdelsol.com/globalcityreview/ Nebraska Review www.unomaha.edu/~fineart/wworkshop/subm.htm New Letters www.newletters.org/ New Delta Review http://english.lsu.edu/journals/ndr Ninth Letter www.ninthletter.com North Dakota Quarterly www.und.nodak.edu/org/ndq/ Notre Dame Review www.nd.edu/~ndr/review.htm Other Voices www.uic.edu/depts/engl/othervoices/index.html Painted Bride Quarterly http://webdelsol.com/pbq/ Potomac Review www.montgomerycollege.edu/potomacreview/index.html
South Dakota Review www.usd.edu/sdreview/ Spinning Jenny www.blackdresspress.com/ Southeast Review www.english.fsu.edu/southeastreview/default.htm Southwest Review www.southwestreview.org/ Sycamore Review www.sla.purdue.edu/academic/engl/sycamore/ Tampa Review http://tampareview.utampa.edu/ Third Coast www.wmich.edu/thirdcoast/ West Branch
 
VI. Web magazines (many paper mags also publish larger web versions.): www.blackbird.vcu.edu; www.collectedstories.com ; www.Pifmagazine.com; www.vestalreview.net; www.vorticalmag.com

 

 

 

Subscribe to Meredith Sue Willis's Free Newsletter
for Readers and Writers:

 

Please fill in your e-mail address
to receive Books For Readers Newsletter
E-mail address:
Subscribe Unsubscribe
 

 

Images and photos found on the various pages of this web site may be used
by anyone, but please attribute the source when it is specified.

 

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.